Gateway Sexual Activity

A friend of mine recently linked me to an article on Boing Boing about Tennessee and Arizona, and who was pretty much at the bottom of the barrel for making the most anit-women and racist laws. They gave it to Tennessee for an update to their state’s Abstinence-only Education policy, outlawing the teaching of “Gateway Sexual Activity”.

What is that you might ask?

It’s kissing and handholding.

The bill would warn teenagers about the serious ‘dangers’ of it and teachers would not be allowed to demonstrate said activities.

It’s absurd.

I didn’t learn about kissing and holding hands from school. I learned about it from seeing my parents, two adults in a loving relationship with two kids (Myself and by younger brother). Same with holding hands, cause as a kid at the time holding hands was for being safe and crossing the street. I held hands with my friends at the time, all the time. Girls more than boys cause it was just how we where. So its safe to say that teenagers are going to learn about this “Gateway Sexual Activity” far before they get into these poor excuses for Sexual Education Classes. Teaching kids to basically not pay attention to the urges they get, we have learned is dangerous. Frankly, it makes me want to hand every teenager a card with the website to Scarleteen a website I wished I had when I was their age.

Then perhaps there is the silly thought that those two things can lead to sex. While I will admit, you kiss someone it COULD but there has to be a whole hell of a lot more there then just a smooch. This is coming from a girl who has kissed more people then she has had sex with. And for those wishing a score card…

Kissed: 30 (give or take, I was a bandit in grade school)
Sex: 6 (most of those being monogamous relationships)

Does this making me a kissing slut? Heh, maybe. Do I care? Not really. I like kissing, to me it goes right along with a good cuddle. But it still in a way proves that this idea of it being a “Gateway Sexual Activity” is quite absurd. It’s just a crazy insane step in the wrong direction.

About scarletrosefox

A late 20's kinky geek. Submissive. Bisexual. Writer. Lover of Corsets. Reviewer.
This entry was posted in Opinion, Sex and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

