Pride

With it being Pride Month here, it is an important month for me.

I am bisexual, I have known it since High School that I was. Though I really didn’t come out until after High School when I was living on my own. I have been thinking a lot more about it in the last few days because of things that have happened in my everyday life.

Recently, I have dealt with some Biphobia, which until it happened to me I didn’t really know that it existed. But it as been tossed my way when revealing it to people who just didn’t know, as I am not screaming it from the rooftops. These where people I felt comfortable enough to say it to, people who because of their own sexualities I thought I was in like company. But instead I was heard… “Oh no, once you are with a girl, you are a lesbian there is no going back.”, “Oh yes, I thought I was bi once too, but I soon knew better.”, and of course that I am just trying to have my cake and eat it too. This was mostly because I have had mostly boyfriends. I have been involved with women, but never in a relationship. This isn’t the first time I have had to deal with those comments and I am sure they aren’t the last. It’s a form of discrimination that is often looked past by many people. Be it that they are just have an aversion towards bisexuality or bisexual people as a social group.

But it irks me that bisexuals are like a fringe group in a community where they should feel like they are with like minds. Bisexuality is just like any other sexuality, we are not on the fence about what we want or are just being promiscuous. Espically not that last part, cause honestly I am just as picky about men as I am about women, I am not just trying to extend my chances at getting booty. And if I was with another girl, I would still identify as bisexual. Hell I have a few friends who are in a very long-term relationship with another woman and she identifies as bisexual as well. I am not trying to pass as straight or anything like that, I am just me and I like who I like.

I have Pride in that, just like anyone else would have pride in being who they are and loving/liking/being attracted to whomever they want to be. I want everyone to be able to love and be loved in the ways they choose, by whomever they choose. So shouldn’t we all want the same for one another?

About scarletrosefox

A late 20's kinky geek. Submissive. Bisexual. Writer. Lover of Corsets. Reviewer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

