30 Days of Kink: Day 19

Day 19: Any unexpected ways kink has improved your life? If so, what are they?

Yes I am jumping around again, but tonight this one spoke to me.

I grew up being a child with ADHD, and while I fought tooth and nail that I wasn’t when I was younger. Looking back on my life and taking stock in how I am today, confirms that yes maybe my parents and doctor knew better than I did. Still when I was 18, I made the firm decision to remove myself from medication because I frankly did not like who I became when I was on them. Yes I was a lot more focused and I got things done quicker, but I felt very dispassionate about it all and that was something I couldn’t stand. I was also very suicidal when I was on the medicine, which was a side effect of it, and having had attempted it a few times I didn’t want to go back to that place just so I could focus better.

Getting into kink, has given me a focus in a way that I can control. When I am in a relationship where I am giving up that power and the thought. It allows me to give my brain a chance to slow down from the millions of thoughts that sometimes build up in my everyday life. Letting me step back and take stock in what I need to focus on rather than the millions of things that I THINK I need to be doing. This also goes for tasks that I am given, I know that they must be done so it allows me to have something I must focus on and that I am able to work the rest of my day around. Or in the case of a list of tasks a full day of things to work on.

While I know that it would not work for everyone, it has been what has worked for me instead of having to resort to medication that I do not wish to get back on to. That is how kin has been able to improve my lifestyle outside of the bedroom aspects of it.

About scarletrosefox

A late 20's kinky geek. Submissive. Bisexual. Writer. Lover of Corsets. Reviewer.
This entry was posted in 30 Days of Kink and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Days of Kink: Day 19

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Kink | Fox in the Flowers

Leave a Reply

