Review: Cosmo Kama Sutra

A book that comes in a bright pink case, what I have always wanted!

A book that comes in a bright pink case, what I have always wanted!

Recently I have had the displeasure of reviewing The Cosmo Kama Sutra and their ’99 mind blowing sex positions’. I cannot say that my mind was blown away by their idea of ‘mind blowing’ sex positions, but more blown away by how much toned down sex talk you can cram into one book. The Cosmo Kama Sutra, doesn’t have any authors per say, it is put together by the Editors of the magazine Cosmopolitan. Cosmopolitan is a international women’s magazine that most people can find and recognize these days as they publish 64 international editions, printed in 35 languages and distributed in more than 100 countries.

Not to mention how by the end of going through it, I felt like I was just either too fat or not flexible enough to be having sex. Most of the positions are for people who just happen to be gymnast ballerinas  and are unrealistic at best. While others are just variations on what I consider to be the main three:

  1. Missionary
  2. Doggy
  3. Cowgirl

Which really aren’t that hard to toy around with on your own and find how to make them work for you so that you can get the most out of them.

The Cosmo Kama Sutra is said to contain 99 ‘mind blowing sex positions’. Which are meant to be an aid in bringing couples more adventurous sex. Though compared to a lot of other books out there these days, the Cosmo Kama Sutra is very vanilla. Though that is Cosmopolitans core audience, the every day woman.

The book is also geared towards heterosexual couples as all of the writing inside is taken from that point of few. This is not to say that non heterosexual people cannot enjoy this book, it just means that they will have to take into context that it is geared towards hetro couples and adjust.

Each of the positions takes up only 2 page, one side is used for a picture of the positions and then the other side is broken down in to three part.

Erotic Instructions
Why You’ll love it
Cosmo Hint

Each of the positions has a small pink tab at the top labeled ‘Carnal Challange’ which use a fire balls as rating which are all out of 5. 5 being the most, and the lowest I saw it go was 2.

They don’t stick to just positions. The rest of the book was filled with ‘Lust Lessons’ which had things about using lube and prolonging sex. Though a couple made me shake my head like Mood Makers vs. Deal Breakers where I found most somewhat make common sense while others just plain knocked fetishes.

Mood Maker: Wearing a Nurse Outfit vs. Deal Breaker: Wearing a Nun outfit

What if you or your partner just so happen to be into that kind of roleplay, I will go on record saying…there have been a few times I have had some less than holy thoughts about Priests (damn you Supernatural) and have told my partners so. In no way has this become a ‘deal breaker’ to them.

Then there was ‘The Perfect Positions for You’. This makes sense, it’s a chart that is supposed to help you find out of the 99 positions ones that will help ‘Problems’ in bed. The first ones like you climaxing before him/he before you okay those are understand able and help an issue couples might have, not that I would call them a problem.

But then the next two, deal with his penis size. Calling it Plus Sized vs. a Short Stack, I just rolled my eyes because honestly it shouldn’t be calling them a problem because of how people are built, but by calling it a problem if your partner saw this and they might already have self-esteem issues about their size its not going to help them feel any better.

But the third set, had to do with weight depending on if you or your partner weighed more.  One position was chosen so that you can ‘bypass his belly’ and the female one was so ‘he doesn’t have to carry your weight’ which made me feel like as a bigger girl I shouldn’t be doing positions where I might be on top. At that point I literally shut the book and tossed it across my couch fed up with it.

I just cannot in good conscious totally recommend this book to anyone. Perhaps if you are a hetrosexual couple that is very new to sex and want to dip your toe into things, maybe…but you can find better sex advice and positions by searching Google that won’t water it down for you.

About scarletrosefox

A late 20's kinky geek. Submissive. Bisexual. Writer. Lover of Corsets. Reviewer.
This entry was posted in Good Vibrations, Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Cosmo Kama Sutra

  1. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

Leave a Reply

