Review: Carrie’s Story An Erotic S/M Novel

Recently I was sent Carrie’s Story An Erotic S/M Novel by Molly Weatherfield by the publishers Cleis Press. The version I have is actually a second reprinting with a forward written by Tristan Taormino and a new cover compared to the first addition. I will say that the new cover is certainly a lot more safe to have out around others, but there is something I do adore from the older over that draws me in.

carriesstory

When I started reading it, I quickly devoured it in about 2 days time. I almost felt like I couldn’t give it a good enough review because my brain had just sped through it in a haze of enjoyment. The writing was paced well and the story itself I felt like I was sitting with Carrie listening to her tell the story to me herself.

So I put it aside and waited about a week to read it once more. This time, it only took me 3 days. One of which day during my time reading I spent almost 3 hours soaking in a bubble bath. That is just how much I was sucked into this book. It was the same feeling that I had gotten when I read The Story of O and the Sleeping Beauty series oh so long ago when I was first getting into BDSM. Those stories of giving into submission totally and submerging ones self in it, that is what I found in this story from the beginning.

Carrie the main character is smart, witty and a joy to read her journey as she tells her story from the beginning to finally being bought at auction, and everything that happens in between. She is fully submissive, not only to the man who is training her but to those who he brings her to. Their relationship is not about her submission to him but about her growth. The character of Jonathan is also very well written, not as a paramore of Carries but as a companion on her journey. The one helping to lead her through the world she is taking her first steps in. There certainly seems like there could be something between them later on in the series of books but that is yet to be seen.

The world itself that the story takes place in can seem fantasy at times with its auctions and pony-training, but I found that it was able to do it in a way that it felt real. A world that part of me wanted to visit if I could. Even the smallest of character in her life Carrie described with enough detail that they felt real to me, from her good friend and roommate to the other submissives that she encounters. Every little thing was enough to continue to keep pulling me into the story page after page.

As for the sexual detail, it is there but its written in an erotic and slightly explicit manner without being full on smut. There were scenes that left me blushing with the simplest details because it allowed my mind to wander to how I would feel in Carrie’s position or the other characters around her.

My only downside was that it felt a little short to me, but I get that it not being long is because this is of course a series and I cannot wait to get my hands on the next book Safe Word.

About scarletrosefox

A late 20's kinky geek. Submissive. Bisexual. Writer. Lover of Corsets. Reviewer.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: Carrie’s Story An Erotic S/M Novel

  1. Pingback: Contest: Thrones of Desire and Carrie’s Story | Fox in the Flowers

  2. Thanks so much… this was a lovely take on the book.
    All best,
    Molly Weatherfield / Pam Rosenthal

  3. Pingback: Review: Safe Word An Erotic S/M Novel by Molly Weatherfield | Fox in the Flowers

Leave a Reply

