Review: The Killer Wore Leather by Laura Antoniou

I have to start this review out by saying that this is actually the first book by Laura Antoniou that I have had the joy of reading. I have heard of her other book series known as The Marketplace Series, but after reading The Killer Wore Leather I plan to seriously rectify this error of mine because I have to say I adored her writing style.

But on to The Killer Wore Leather!

killerworeleatherSet at the Grand Sterling Hotel in Manhattan, during the annual Mr. & Ms. Global Leather contest, someone has killed last years male winner leaving him dead in his hotel room . Cormac “Mack” Steel is a character you love to loath from the moment comes into the page, and it’s not hard to see why many people would take the chance at offing him.

In comes the character of Detective Rebecca Feldblub, who is put on the case by her Lieutenant because she is the only out lesbian in her precinct and of course that always means that kinky sex must be in the cards right? But she weaves her way around the world she has walked into learning things not only about the people around her, but about her own past as well. We also got to see things from the outside looking in through the characters of Nancy Nichols a journalist who would much rather be covering any other story until the murder happens and then she is more then happy to dive in.

From the first chapter, I was engrossed. Antoniou was able to not only draw me in with characters that stood out from the page each with their own personalities and quirks, but with a setting that I think many these days are super familiar with. While I have never been to a fetish convention, I have been lucky to have gone to others and been around those who are running around in the background to make sure things are running smoothly. The convention divas that have to have things their way or the highway and the people who do their best to please them. Plus we get all of the different types that you see in the leather/BDSM/fetish community. Toss in to all of this a murder mystery and you have the makings of a story that has more than enough twists, turns and suspects will keep you guessing until the end.

And while the book revolves around a world in which things are erotic, it is not erotica which I really got a kick out of. There are so many BDSM books coming out lately that to have one that didn’t actually contain (though alludes to) the sexual parts of it was seriously refreshing.

The writing is witty and keeps you immersed into the world and the mystery page after page. I could seriously not put this down even while I was on my camping trip! Anyone who is a fan of mysteries, Laura Antoniou’s writing, looking for a book that revolves around BDSM that isn’t erotica or just looking for an amazing book to read will get a kick out of this!

Thank you to Cleis Press for giving me the chance to review this! I know I am going to read it over and over again!

 

About scarletrosefox

A late 20's kinky geek. Submissive. Bisexual. Writer. Lover of Corsets. Reviewer.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

